Marvel Studios films are known for their secrecy. President Kevin Feige ensures there’s are surprises in each film by forcing cast and crew alike to keep quiet about plot details before they’re released.
 
Apparently some actor don’t even know who they are playing when they audition for the role, forcing a certain level of creativity when it comes to playing roles. One of the Spider-Man: Homecoming stars Zendaya admitted that she had no idea which role she was applying for before they told her she was cast in the film.
 
While speaking with Jimmy Fallon on the Tonight Show, Zendaya said she didn’t even know she was auditioning for a role in a Spider-Man movie.
 
“I knew I was auditioning for ‘Girl In Movie’, it was great getting into character [laughs],” Zendaya said. “In fact, I didn’t actually even know what kind of character [it was], because my character is very interesting. She is kind of a loner; she is super-intellectual, very dug-dry humor with one-liners, pops in and pops out. I didn’t even know what character I was going to play until I got there and sign the Non-Disclosure and then read the script.”
 
Zendaya will be playing a character called Michelle, who wars rumored to be a version of Mary Jane for the MCU. Those rumors have yet to pan out, and all signs seem to point toward her playing an original character.
